हिंदी മലയാളം



Web Desk

In nail-biter episode, BJP won the majority of Rajya Sabha seats in the election held on June 19. The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which had 90 members in the Rajya Sabha, has taken its tally to 111 in the 245-member Upper House, where the majority mark is 123.
The ruling Bharathiya Janata Party (BJP), gained crucial ground in Rajya Sabha, winning eight of the 19 seats across eight states that went to polls. This was the first major electoral contest since the outbreak of Covid-19.
Elections to 24 seats in 10 states were initially scheduled for March 26, but were deferred due to nationwide lockdown. From the original list, four candidates in Karnataka, including former Prime Minister H.D. Devegowda, and one in Arunachal Pradesh were elected unopposed. Altogether BJP won 11 out 24 seats.
Former union minister Jyotiraditya Scindia MP of the BJP, Congress leader Digvijaya Singh and former Jharkhand chief minister Shibu Soren (Jharkhand) were among the seasoned campaigners who emerged victorious on Friday even as high drama unfolded in Gujarat and Manipur, where the counting of votes began late amidst allegations of irregularities.
The ruling YSR Congress bagged all the four Rajya Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh. Subhash Chandra Bose, Mopidevi Venkata Ramana, Parimal Nathwani and Ayodhya Rami Reddy bagged the four seats in the state.
In Rajastan, the ruling Congress won two out of the three seats which went to polls. While K.C. Venugopal and Neerja Dangi were declared winners, BJP’s Rajendra Ghelot won and its second candidate Onkar Singh Lakhawat was defeated. With this, the number of Congress’s Rajya Sabha MPs from Rajasthan has increased to 3, out of total 10, and rest 7 seats are held by the BJP.
In Gujarat, the ruling BJP won three seats (Narhari Amin, Abhay Bharadwaj and Ramilaben Bara) and the Congress won one (Shaktisinh Gohil). In MP, Scindia who sailed to BJP in March, won and will make his debut in the Upper House. His party colleague, Sumer Singh Solanki, too registered a win. Congress veteran Digvijaya Singh retained his seat.
In Manipur, the lone Rajya Sabha seat went to poll in the backdrop of a political crisis following the resignation of nine members. BJP candidate L Sanajaoba defeated veteran T. Mangi Babu of Congress. K. Vanlalvena, a candidate of BJP ally Mizo National Front (MNF), bagged the lone seat in Mizoram, while the National People’s Party’s (NPP) WR Kharlukhi won in Meghalaya.

Also read:  These two countries are the most investor-friendly markets in the world