English മലയാളം




Web desk 08/06/2020

The voter list for the general elections for the local bodies in Kerala would be published on June 17, State Election Commissioner V. Bhaskaran said

The voter list will be released to all local bodies except Mattannur municipality in Kannur district this year. Elections to 941 gram panchayats, 152 block panchayats, 14 district panchayats, 86 municipalities and 6 municipal corporations will be held this year.
The draft ballot, which existed in local bodies, was published on January 20. Applications for the inclusion of new names in the voter list and objections regarding the draft list were received by the respective Electrical Registration Officers till March 16.

Also read:  Amit Shah urges parties to stand united in Delhi's COVID-19 fight

The Commission had decided to publish the final voter list in districts other than Kasaragod on March 27 and Kasargod district on April 6. The publication of the voter list was postponed due to the continuous lock-down of the government to prevent the spread of the COVID-19 in the country.

Also read:  High Court stays bus fare hike in Kerala