हिंदी മലയാളം


UN Day

Our Correspondent

The UAE, Albania, Brazil, Ghana and Gabon were elected on June 11 to the UN Security Council for a two-year term beginning on January 1, 2022. All candidates ran unopposed.

The UAE received 179 votes, Albania 175, Brazil 181, Ghana 185 and Gabon 183. Each candidate needed two-thirds of the votes in the 193-nation UN General Assembly’s secret ballot.

The UAE has been a member of the UN since the country’s founding in 1971; it has held a seat on the Security Council once before in 1986-1987.

Welcoming the election, Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid, Vice President and Ruler of Dubai, said it reflected the UAE’s active diplomacy, international position and development model.

Mohamed bin Zayed, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces, said on Twitter that the country’s diplomats would “pursue the same spirit of global engagement and collaboration that has guided the UAE since its founding”.

Also read:  UAE leaders extend Diwali greetings

The UAE received endorsements from the League of Arab States in 2012 and by the Asia-Pacific Group in June 2020. The UAE launched its campaign for the seat in September 2020 and held virtual briefings with various regional groups of member states to the UN.

“The UAE has always been ready to shoulder its share of responsibility for the world’s most pressing challenges in collaboration with the international community and this was the driving force of our bid,” said His Highness Sheikh Abdullah bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation.

He added: “We recognise the significant responsibility associated with membership on the Security Council and the extensive challenges the Council faces, and we affirm that the UAE will strive to contribute to peace and security with great diligence and determination.”

Also read:  India revokes landing permit for private jets

“The UAE’s turn to serve on the Security Council is based on our belief that our values and principles can help drive progress to achieve our collective goal of international peace and security,” said Lana Nusseibeh, Assistant Minister for Political Affairs and Ambassador and Permanent Representative of the UAE to the UN.

The UAE, Albania and Brazil were the only candidates from their respective regions. Ghana and Gabon won the two seats allocated to Africa after the Democratic Republic of the Congo withdrew from the race.

Brazil has served on the council 10 times, Gabon and Ghana three times each. Albania has never served on the council.

The 15-nation Security Council has 10 seats for temporary members but is dominated by its five permanent members – Russia, China, the US, Britain and France – which hold the power of veto. To be adopted, council resolutions need at least nine votes in favour and no vetoes from permanent members.

Also read:  Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine approved for use in Abu Dhabi

Describing the UAE as “an important voice in the United Nations,” India has welcomed the country’s election as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council.

“India’s bilateral relations with the UAE are at an all-time high. We work closely with the UAE in the UN,” said T.S. Tirumurti, India’s Permanent Representative to the UN, in a statement on the UAE’s election.

India is currently a non-permanent member of the Security Council. India and the UAE will both be in the Security Council till India’s elected term ends on December 31, 2022.

The Sultanate of Oman, Bahrain, Egypt and Kuwait were among the countries that congratulated the UAE on its election to the UN Security Council.